April 9 2019

LWC Partner Appointed to MetroParks Board of Park Commissioners

DAYTON, OH (April 9, 2019) Five Rivers MetroParks welcomes Bear Monita to its Board of Park Commissioners. Judge Alice O. McCollum of the Montgomery County Court of Common Pleas Probate Division appointed Monita on March 28, 2019. He joins Board of Park Commissioners president Karen L. Davis and vice president Jessica Saunders.

Monita replaces Alan Pippenger, who recently retired from the Board after 14 years of outstanding service and leadership to Five Rivers MetroParks.

Monita is a partner of LWC, the Dayton area’s oldest architectural, interior design and planning firm. He’s been with the firm for 21 years and is responsible for leading marketing, business development and client relations initiatives. He assisted Dayton Public Schools, the city of Kettering, Huber Heights City Schools, Dayton Metro Library and Wayne Local Schools in the successful passage of bond issue measures to construct new facilities totaling $1 billion.

Prior to joining LWC, Monita was the district director for U.S. Congressman Tony Hall and the government affairs manager of the Dayton Area Chamber of Commerce. He also serves on the boards of the Kettering Medical Center Foundation; Sinclair Foundation, including serving as board chair from 2017-2019; and the Ohio Foundation of Independent Colleges.

Monita is a Kettering resident and graduated from Ohio University, where he earned a bachelor’s degree in journalism.

During his tenure on the Board of Park Commissioners, Alan Pippenger was very active in attending and participating in Five Rivers MetroParks activities, as well as representing the organization at many community events throughout Montgomery County. During the past two years, Pippenger served as president of the board and helped guide the organization to pass its most recent levy in November 2018.

By Ohio law, Five Rivers MetroParks is governed by a three-member volunteer board of park commissioners who are appointed by the probate judge of Montgomery County. The board establishes all rules and regulations, approves developments and land acquisitions, and controls all funds. Each commissioner serves without pay for a three-year term, with one member’s term expiring each year. Commissioners can be reappointed for successive terms.


Share this post: